The National Film School of the Latvian Academy of Culture has become the member of European University Film Award (EUFA) network


The European University Film Award (EUFA) was launched in 2016 by Filmfest Hamburg and the European Film Academy (EFA), which is presented and voted by European university students. The aim of this initiative is to involve a younger audience, to spread the "European idea" and to transport the spirit of European cinema to an audience of university students. It shall also support film dissemination, film education and the culture of debating.

Each year the committee of film experts select five films from five European countries, from the list of all nominated films for the European University Film Award. These five films are then viewed and discussed in the respective university classes and each institution selects its favourite film. One student representative from each of the 23 universities comes to Hamburg for a three-day deliberation meeting in December. During those three days the students discuss all films together, exchange arguments and vote for the winner. The Award is presented to the winning director as part of the European Film Awards. 

The Third Edition of the EUFA network in 2018 is represented by 23 universities from 23 countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom.

The first the European University Film Award in 2016 went to I, DANIEL BLAKE by Ken Loach. While in 2017 the EUFA went to the Icelandic film HEARTSTONE (Hjartasteinn) by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson. Starting from 2018, the student jury will include representatives of the Latvian Academy of Culture as well.


For more information: